Operation: Motivation

Not sure if its the continued chest pain, me catching an annoying cold, or just stress that has put a complete block on my motivation this week. I don’t think I’ve tracked once. I haven’t run since last Sunday when I did a 7 miler (awesome btw). I just have not really cared so much lately. I’m hoping once I knock out this decent sized assignment, that I HAVE started,  have for class due tomorrow and get through the rest of this week of class, I’ll feel better. Right now I am just constantly going, going, going that there’s virtually no time to run. But there’s always time to track, I just haven’t. I wish I could find my motivation button and click it on. It’s like a huge weight on my shoulders all day every day. I plan to get in a run on Friday when I have off work and school. I have the weekend off from babysitting as well so I shouldn’t have a problem staying on my run schedule.
I don’t have a clue what the scale will say tomorrow. I really didn’t do so terribly this past week. We cooked almost every night, except Friday and Saturday. However Friday we did pretty well considering we went out to my best friends going away gathering. I had predicted we could drink heavily since it was a decent sized social gathering in a bar, and that I’d eat terribly as a result of my drinking. However, the outcome was surprisingly opposite. We shared two appetizers of tuna medallions and chips and salsa. Then we stopped at a favorite Mexican joint on the way home and he got two chicken tacos and I ordered two tamales, which are probably one of the healthiest Mexican choices and a favorite! I had one Bloody Mary at my friends thing and one margarita at the Mexican joint. Then Saturday I didn’t really eat all day because I felt so awful (the start of my sore throat/cold), and then we went out for sushi that night. I know, sick and sushi don’t sound like they mix but it was perfect! I had 3 cups of miso soup, which soothed my throat. I also had a  salad, and I shared most of my sushi with Joe. But I also had some shrimp fried rice (also shared with Joe)! Whoops! After all of that our Sunday was good eating wise. A healthy breakfast and lunch, and then Italian sausage and sauerkraut in the crock pot for dinner.  Yum!
Last night I took the day off class and was able to get through the work day and came home and cooked a community weight watchers recipe favorite, bubbling pizza casserole. It’s so delicious! (recipe at the bottom)
Today has been decent so far. For breakfast I stopped and got a delicious HerbAlife Protein shake, the perky punch and aloe shot. For lunch I had leftovers from the casserole. This week for dinner we are trying to use up all of our leftovers! We have so many in the freezer. Tonight I believe we are having crab and corn bisque with a salad.
As far as “thin thinking” for this Tuesday, I’m not so hopeful. With being sick, not working out like I usually do, and not making all of the GREATEST food decisions I don’t want to assume I’m losing this week. Even though SOMEHOW after that horrible weekend of food a couple weeks ago I lost 2 lbs. Then last week I lost a pound. I’m kind of expecting a gain, as I have the last two weeks. Maybe it’ll kick my lazy ass into gear. I think since I’m out of my slump of sickness, and I’ve managed to get my homework mostly finished I will be able to get back on the WW-Wagon.
I have got to admit that I’m really disappointed in myself for getting off of my favorite ride but it only means that I’m human. This is a life long journey and there are going to be bumps in the road. However, it’s refreshing to remind myself that in the past if I were to have gotten sick I typically would given up entirely. And I mean ENTIRELY. For this being my first try with weight watchers, I think it’s pretty incredible in and of itself that I’ve even made it this far. Not to say it doesn’t happen for beginners, but as many meetings as I’ve been to and people that I’ve met, it doesn’t always work this way. So many of the people I have met or spoken with are only this journal for the umpteenth time, and it’s amazing that they keep coming back. That’s just a testament that the plan is ONLY going to work if you put the work in. WW members are determined m’fers!
I will update tomorrow at some point with my weigh in details. <3
RECIPE: Bubbling Pizza Casserole
1 lb Extra Lean Ground Turkey
1 tsp Italian Seasoning
1/2 tsp Basil
1 medium onion, diced
3 Garlic cloves, minced
1 green bell pepper, diced
16 oz Tomato Sauce, no salt added
14 oz can of diced tomatoes, no salt added
12 Reduced fat, refrigerated biscuits, quartered
About 2-3 Servings fat free mozzarella cheese
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Meanwhile, brown turkey in a saute pan on medium heat. Once browned add the rest of the ingredients except the biscuits. Let everything simmer for about 5 minutes, then carefully mix in the quartered biscuits. Spoon the mixture into a well greased 9×13 casserole dish and place in the oven uncovered for 25 minutes.
2. Top casserole with cheese evenly, then place back in the oven for another 10 minutes or until biscuits are done. Let cool for 5 minutes, then serve!
Makes approximately 8 servings, at 5 points a piece!

TIP: You can mess around with whatever toppings you would like to add. I’ve used turkey pepperoni, added mushrooms, black beans, etc. I’m sure whatever you love on a pizza would work well in this dish!

Image
Leave a Reply

